The Inimitable Charles Dickens

My literary education, of which I’m still in the pre-nursery stage, started with Charles Dickens.

Whenever I think about it, the first ‘real’ novel I remember to have read was ‘A Tale of Two Cities‘. For times before that, all the books are shrouded in one hazy entity in memory. It is with ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ that the gates of my mind opened into light. And Charles Dickens was the first Prophet, the Grand Old Man, the Bheeshm Pitamah if you will, towering tall over fellow Victorian Thomas Hardy, Russian revolutionary literature and Maxim Gorky, Coelho and Bach, ‘new-fangled’ Ernest Hemingway and ‘brooding’ Joseph Conrad, of my literary world at that time.

Dickens dreaming

I’ve been fascinated about many authors, distributed across history and genres. But never so much for anybody as for Dickens. My first fascination and the biggest one at that. Couldn’t have read the gigantic mass of David Copperfield, Oliver Twist, Sketches by Boz & Pickwick Papers but for that. And never have anyone’s writing delighted me so much. They always filled me with wonder and amazing delight on its brilliance and vividness of English language, and grandiose of the world he created in his novels.

My gateway into literature, Dickens’ nickname ‘The Inimitable’ suits perfectly on him.

Today’s children and teens rave about Harry Potter, Twilight (sigh), Chetan Bhagat, and Lord of the Rings (with all due respect to J.R.R. Tolkien). I consider myself extremely lucky to have grown up with Dickens, Hardy and Gorky.

Happy Birthday Mr. Dickens 🙂

Author: Mitostargazer

I read. I write. I listen.

13 thoughts on “The Inimitable Charles Dickens”

  1. Nice tribute Mohit….I remember my first English novel was Tale of Two Cities, an abridged version that Dad read out to me. And I agree, despite the craze of Harry Potter and Twilight, today’s teens are unlucky, if they aren’t acquainted with Dickens.

    Sayantika

  2. I also started reading Oliver Twist.I personally feel Chetan Bhagat’s success lies in the fact that he has made those people read who would never read otherwise.Harry Potter has that magic element which entices kids.Personally i have read Lord of the Ring and The hobbit and i feel Tolkien’s work is commendable.
    Dickens work will stay with the generations to come and I too wish him happy b day.

  3. Dickens is great. “Great Expectations” is still one of my favorite stories.

    I consider Lord of the Rings to be serious literature. It wasn’t done lightly, nor is it read lightly by many who read it. There’s a lot there brewing under the surface. The movies haven’t done much to further its greatness, though.

  4. I was also going to stick up for Lord of the Rings until I read your comment above! I do see what you mean about children liking fantasy and magic rather than books set in an everyday, realistic world.

    When I grew up, I loved a mixture of things; The Famous Five, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Hobbit, The Wolves of Willoughby Chase series and anything by Roald Dahl. I don’t think it matters that some children only read fantasy to start with though – it can’t be bad if it is getting them into reading. I loved Harry Potter when it first came out and still enjoy it now, I don’t over analyse it, because really it is just a children’s book! It’s lovely to think of how many children might end up reading the likes of Dickens, because they were encouraged to read by a skinny boy with a lightening bolt scar.

    I didn’t actually start to read Dickens until I was a teenager and don’t think I missed out too much – I’m just glad I found him in the end! When I read to kids, I love to read shortened versions of Dickens and I find that usually the children enjoy it just as much as me!

    Great post and Happy Birthday Charles Dickens! 🙂

    1. thanks for replying, and understanding what i was trying to convey 🙂
      what you’re talking about, the mixture of things, i think that is the best way to introduction to literature for children and teenagers. even mine has been a little one-sided as i was not properly introduced to children’s classics like The Hobbit, and The Famous Five, so didn’t have the childhood enjoyment of reading those kind of books. The natural succession of more serious books from that stage onwards is the best course, but it should not be the commencement exercise.
      But i came out quite okay, so what the heck 😀
      thanks again, i was a little late in replying as i couldn’t just give a cursory reply to ur comment 🙂

Propagate your brain waves

